FIFA Proposes A Six-Nation Play-Off To Decide World Cup’s Last Two Slots


​Fifa is proposing a six-nation play-off tournament to decide the last two slots at the 48-team World Cup in 2026.

Football’s world governing body has revealed its plans for how the 48 places will be allocated, with 16 Europeans teams set to qualify.

The proposals – approved by Fifa’s president and his counterparts at the six confederations – are expected to be ratified by the Fifa Council on 9 May.

Fifa members voted in January to expand the World Cup from 32 to 48 teams, reports the BBC.

Uefa President Aleksander Ceferin said he was “satisfied” with the proposals and that European nations would be “fairly represented”.

How have the slots been allocated?

All six confederations will have at least one team in the expanded tournament, with no inter-confederation play-offs prior to the play-off tournament.

The World Cup hosts will still qualify automatically, with their slot taken from their confederation’s quota.

The recommended places for each confederation are:

Africa – 9 (up from 5)

Asia – 8 (up from 4 or 5)

Europe – 16 (up from 13)

North, Central America and Caribbean – 6 (up from 3 or 4)

Oceania – 1 (from 0 or 1)

South America – 6 (up from 4 or 5).

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Digg thisShare on StumbleUpon0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Reddit0